Surprise!

I expected my birthday to include a visit with my mother-in-law, a trip to Best Buy then back home in time for my dad, mom and daughter to visit.  But, that’s not what happened.

Walking into my mother-in-law’s house I was surprised by the additional guests that included my son, daughter and her boyfriend.  We ate, they sang Happy Birthday to me, I opened some cool presents (including what I was going to get at the expected trip to Best Buy), then we headed on.  It was a perfect birthday celebration.

We stopped at Best Buy anyway to pick up a keyboard and mouse to go with my new 25″ monitor.  Then headed back home.

As I turned the corner from the hallway into my dining room I heard in unison “Surprise!”  My dad, mom, son, daughter, daughter’s boyfriend, brother, sister-in-law, aunt and three cousins had decorated my house, brought drinks, plates, a special birthday hat and made my favorite homemade cake.   I was truly surprised.

20140831_061

Within a short time, we all gathered around while my mom read from her autobiography the portion about the day I was born.  Next, I began opening the stack of cards and present they brought for me.  Finally, I made a wish, blew out the candles and we each had some homemade cake with real whipping cream my mom made.  But that’s not all…the present I unwrapped is a story all by itself.

The present I got is a dress made so that we could re-create one of my childhood photos.  Last year my dad saw a photo of me taken when I was 10 years old holding one of his radio controlled airplanes and he told me that he still has that plane.  We thought it would be cool to re-create that photo someday and within a few days he brought the plane to my house where it has been for over a year.

A few weeks ago Keith and my dad were discussing my upcoming birthday when Keith mentioned that I was still wanting to re-create that photo.  Instantly,  my dad knew that’s what he wanted to make happen for my birthday.  He came over to my house while I was at work and cleaned the airplane making sure it was ready for the photo.  Then my dad enlisted clerks at various fabric stores to help him compare fabric in the stores to the fabric of my dress in the picture trying to find the closest match.  After he purchased the fabric he then needed to find a seamstress and my Aunt Claudia volunteered for that task.

20140818_0135

So, when I opened that present and saw that dress I immediately knew the plan –we were going re-create the photo!

20140831_093-a

I nervously put the dress on hoping it would fit and it fits perfectly.  My aunt is amazing!

Next, we decided on the location.  Since the original photo was taken while we lived in Wichita Falls, Texas but we live in Oklahoma City now we opted to go to a nearby park.  We loaded up the RC airplane and scoped out a good spot.  It was a bit windy but several of us worked to get the angles close to the original.

20140831_155

See what you think of the results, click the image to zoom in.

recreation

I had a great birthday, spent time with people I love on a fun project.  Thank you to all involved, it was a perfect gift for me.

About kbea831

I love collecting family stories and photos.

Posted on August 31, 2014, in Family, Family History, food/drink, life, Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. An excellently conceived and executed plan – made for a really great day. This post conveys it nicely.

    Like

Leave a Reply

