Driving Around In My Automobile

Gathering all of our essential items to go down to our storm shelter when severe weather threatens has taken on a bit more of a priority for me since the May 20, 2013 tornado.  To help us more easily keep our cat safe when moving around during times like that, I bought a pet carrier several months ago.  Soon after that, on a trip to the lake, I decided that Purrkins needed to get used to the carrier so I placed him in it.  I was thinking it would be a fight to get him in there but, to my surprise, he loved it! In fact, when I left it unzipped he walked right in a laid down.

Now, when we drive to the lake we get the pet carrier out and he easily gets in.  We place him on the console between the driver and passenger side in the truck so he has a good view and he is very content.  Historically without using the pet carrier,  Purrkins would find a place to hide and stay there.  Perhaps inside the carrier he feels like he’s ‘hiding’.  Or, maybe he simply feels safe while his curiosity is running wild.

We drove to the lake last night with Purrkins in his pet carrier.  See how content he looks.  Maybe he’s humming an old song “driving  around in my automobile and feeling comfortable with no particular place to go.

2014-01-17-17.17.48-2

About kbea831

I love collecting family stories and photos.

Posted on January 18, 2014, in Pet, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. We should have done this with the kids.

    Like

Leave a Reply

