48|2013 Ice! (December 16 – 22, 2013)

Thankfully the second limo holiday light tour planned for this season with my co-workers missed the ice storm by a day.  The 14 of us crammed into a Hummer limo and were chauffeured around Oklahoma City.  The best lights we saw were at Midwest City’s Holiday Lights Spectacular 2013.

The following day the Oklahoma City metro had an ice storm and by Saturday afternoon we had about an inch of ice covering everything in our yard.

The turbine roof vent is no longer spinning.

Our Texas Lilac tree was dropping severely due to the weight of all the ice.

Our grill.

Since our neighborhood lost trees in the May 20 tornado we really didn’t have any worries about big trees breaking on houses or wires and wreaking havoc in other ways.  The roads were not as awful as you might think.

I hurt my back this week and have been in quite a bit of discomfort so, at my husband’s recommendation,  I went to see a chiropractor for the first time in my life.  I thought I was feeling a little better then when I leaned over to get a better angle for the photo of the grill (above) my back gave out.  So, that photo has an added memory for me.

About kbea831

I love collecting family stories and photos.

Posted on December 23, 2013, in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

