34|2013 The wonder of it all (September 10-15, 2013)

Men love to wonder, and that is the seed of science. ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson, essayist & poet

We especially need imagination in science. It is not all mathematics, nor all logic, but it is somewhat beauty and poetry. ~ Maria Mitchell, astronomer

Research is what I’m doing when I don’t know what I’m doing. ~Wernher Von Braun, rocket scientist

Most of us wonder a lot and some of us follow our wondering with research and create beautiful things. My Dad and his friends began wondering and researching about rockets in the mid 1950’s. Among my family’s home movies are several 8mm films of my Dad and his friends’ rocket experiments. These films are best understood by those who participated so one of my tasks this week was to gather information to add to the movies to help the viewers see the relevance of the movies to my Dad and his friends as well as to understand what was happening in the film.

My Dad and I watched the footage slowly and repeatedly while the audio recorder captured his comments that identified the people and processes involved. Throughout the week, I pieced together pictures, audio and video clips to create a 17-minute movie presentation. The first showing took place Sunday afternoon when we had a nice gathering of family and food. Also on display were some of the actual exhibit posters used in one of Dad’s science fair entries. Following the home movie and grazing on delicious food, we watched October Sky, which has interesting similarities to my Dad and his friends’ experiments with rocket building.

20130916_0006

Pieces of my Dad’s 1956 science fair exhibit along with a newspaper article

Another result of wondering occurred this week when, on Saturday afternoon, my mother and I visited with some distant Keithley relatives. This visit with the Tomany kin is a direct result of our collaborative genealogy research and strong use of what the Internet offers. I’m just sure that my great, great Keithley grandparents are pleased with how their descendants are connecting with one another.

About kbea831

I love collecting family stories and photos.

Posted on September 17, 2013, in Family History and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. It’s definitely been a good week for connecting with family. I’m really pleased that the part of Wayne’s life that was such an integral part of him was able to be presented in such an enjoyable family format and particularly so our next generation could see that aspect of his nature and character.

    Like

  2. Me too. Keith mailed the film yesterday so in about a month we’ll have much better quality video to work with.

    Like

Leave a Reply

