32|52 In The Dark (August 6 – 13, 2012)

It was to be a relaxing weekend at our lake place.  And it was, with the exception of my odd schedule.  Saturday morning I read that the annual Perseid meteor showers would begin after 10:00 pm and that the best time to see them is in the pre-dawn time and I decided I wanted to watch this.

Between 10 & 11 pm Keith and I looked for the moon and meteors, we even went to the marina but didn’t see the moon or any shooting stars.  We did, however, see lots of interesting night time colors as people were taking their boats in for the day. Unfortunately, I did not have my tripod which made taking photographs at night a challenge.

2012aug11_0152
2012aug11_0161

I set my alarm clock for 3:00 am to get up and try to see the Perseid at that time.  Even though I was sleeping comfortably I got up and went to the front yard.  After a few minutes, I finally found the crescent moon hiding behind all the tops of the trees and then I saw some shooting stars!  I went back inside to let Keith know but he wasn’t interested in getting out of that wonderful bed (imagine that).

Determined to see something, I took a chair and sat in a big open space in our back yard for the next 2 hours watching the moon, jupiter, venus, the milky way and the perseids.  I found it quite peaceful and enjoyable.  As I expected, the photographs aren’t very good since I didn’t have my tripod to hold the camera steady but I had fun trying.

2012aug12_0124

The moon was in line with and in between Jupiter and Venus on Saturday morning.

2012aug12_0132

The crescent moon was quite clear in the rural area of Shay, OK.

2012aug13_0058

I also went out about 4:30 am Monday morning and thought it was interesting to note that the moon was now much closer to Venus and the view of the moon was a bit brighter on the shadow side.

2012aug13_0040
About kbea831

I love collecting family stories and photos.

Posted on August 14, 2012, in Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

