362|365 New Year’s Day Superstition (1/1/12)

Jan012012_0017

Growing up we always had black-eyed peas on New Year’s Day and I didn’t like them.  January, 1984, when I was 23 years old, I openly declared that I thought it was a ridiculous superstition and I didn’t eat any black-eyed peas that day.

That year, my parents divorced, after 24 years of marriage.  I now eat black-eyed peas on New Year’s Day.  Always.

I’ve had other bad things happen to me since then but really black-eyed peas don’t taste that awful so I have one or two peas, just in case.

Over the past few years we’ve tried different recipes and sometimes I like it well enough to eat a spoonful or two of black-eyed peas.  Today, I gathered up the various types of dried beans we had, which were pinto, great northern, lima and black-eyed peas. Then, I added ham and made soup.  It was pretty good so I had quite a few spoonfuls that included several black-eyed peas.

About kbea831

I love collecting family stories and photos.

Posted on January 2, 2012, in food/drink and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

