282|365 Under Lock and Key (10/13/11)

Oct132011_0112a

It’s not locked and I don’t have the key.  For as far back as I can remember my paternal grandparents had this cedar chest and told me that it would be mine ‘when I was older’.  They had another cedar chest for my cousin that looked entirely different (prettier in my mind) and they also told her she could have hers when she was older.  Surprisingly, I don’t remember when they gave mine to me; perhaps after we moved back to Oklahoma in 1981 and lived closer to them.

I’ve been keeping important things in my cedar chest.  Things like my mother’s high school prom dress, her wedding dress, my graduation cap & gown, letters I’ve saved, my kids’ baby blankets, etc.  Now, I’ve found other places to store those items and have decided to take my cherished cedar chest to our lake place because I think the style will fit better there and hopefully I can safely keep linens in there and away from insects.

About kbea831

I love collecting family stories and photos.

Posted on October 14, 2011, in Family History and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

