252|365 Cigar Box (9/13/11)

When I visited either of my grandma’s homes, they often gave me something.  One such item I still have is a cigar box that my Grandma Brown gave me.  I really don’t remember how long I’ve had the box but I think I’ve had it since I was in junior high school in the early 1970’s.  I often used cigar boxes like this to hold my school supplies and, in fact, this one still has pens, pencils, ruler, paper clips, and more in it.

Sep132011_0020

The image of the men on the lid has some texture to it, which made it difficult for me to photograph.

Sep132011_0013b

As I inspected the box I noticed that it has a revenue stamp on the back of it that says “Oklahoma Tobacco Tax $1.50”. The stamp also has the letters “DCL” in the design.  On a website I found photographs of two Oklahoma revenue stamps from the 1970’s that have a similar design to mine.  If the stamp on my box is from that same time period it fits my recollection of when I got it.

On ebay the same box is selling for $20.00.  I plan on keeping mine though it’s not in the best of condition.  I wish I would have treated mine a little better.

About kbea831

I love collecting family stories and photos.

Posted on September 14, 2011, in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

