183|365 Pot Luck (7/6/11)

Jul062011_0007

As I was going through my kitchen cabinets trying to assess what items I could give to my kids to outfit them with some essentials, I discovered a good selection of pots and pans but not many hot pad holders, towels or washrags.  Additionally, just about everything we have is falling apart.  I swear I buy these every couple of years but they just fall to pieces or disappear. The photo shows all 6 of my hot pad holders and they are, believe it or not, freshly laundered so they are looking their finest.

When I was young my grandparents showed me the cedar chest they had that would one day be mine.  Grandma called it my “hope chest” and would occassionally give me things to put into it that I would be able to use when I got married one day and established my own home.  I gathered old pots, pans, utensils, homemade afghans, homemade hot pad holders and much more.  When I finally moved out of the house, I did have a few basics.

I don’t know how many people still gather items for a hope chest.  I still have my cedar chest and now it has important historical items in it such as my high school graduation gown and cap, my Mom’s prom dress as well as her wedding dress, and things like that.

About kbea831

I love collecting family stories and photos.

Posted on July 7, 2011, in Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

