140|365 Sirens, Shelter & Safety (5/24/11)

Many places closed their businesses early due to the warning of severe weather so the traffic at 4:00 was ridiculous, worse than 5:00 traffic.  After spending well over an hour on the road getting home, the tornado sirens began going off soon after I arrived.  My daughter had taken cover in Edmond so I felt as at ease as was possible.  At home my husband, son, mother-in-law, her friend Pete, the cat and I were together and we spent about 45 minutes in our storm shelter.  It’s dark down there and initially we had only a tiny amount of light.  The weather stations warnings certainly gave great cause for concern and sitting in a dark hole in the ground can be daunting.

May242011_0006

Travis found a box flashlights so we eventually had more light.  As we visited Pete, who is from Scotland, told us that it was his first time to be in a storm shelter.  While it’s not an experience that is on anyone’s ‘bucket list’ I am glad we had one to use and remain safe.

May242011_0009

Our cat decided the little shelf in the shelter was the perfect spot for him to wait out the storm.  His eyes tell a lot, don’t you think?

Once we got out of the shelter I began contacting other family and learned everyone is fine.  My Mom’s power is out at her house so she’s staying at my place.

About kbea831

I love collecting family stories and photos.

Posted on May 25, 2011, in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

