30|365 Play It Again (2/3/11)

Summer of 1972, when I was still 12, my grandparents gave me the money from the savings account they established when I was born and it had a little over $100 in it. I still have the savings book in my scrapbook because that was a lot of money to me.  I wanted a nice stereo and Dad helped me choose it.  I spent all of my money on a really cool looking stereo with a bubble type dust cover, 8 track player, AM/FM radio and record player.

Every few weeks I’d ask Dad to take me to the Record Bar where I would buy a 45 RPM vinyl record with my allowance money.  I still have most, if not all of those records.

This morning since I didn’t have to be at work until 11:00 I pulled some of those records out and listened to them.  I have converted all of them to mp3 but sometimes I just like actually seeing, touching and playing them on a record player.

20110203_0066

The songs I listened to this morning (included here with a link to a video and some of the lyrics) were:

Love Is What You Make It by Grass Roots (1973)

Love is
Love is what you make it
You can’t make or break it
So don’t you run
Run and hide
I said love is
Love is what you make it
And if you make it with me
We’ll make it all right
Hey hey hey

Beautiful Sunday by Daniel Boone (1972)

Ha, ha, ha, beautiful Sunday
This is my, my, my, beautiful day
When you said, said, said, said that you loved me
Oh my, my, my, it’s a beautiful day

Oh Babe, What Would You Say by Hurricane Smith (1972)

Just so, Baby I know
I know I could be so in love with you
And I know that I could make you love me too
And if I could only hear you say you do, oo oo oo oo
But anyway
What would you say

I’m the Happiest Girl in the Whole USA by Donna Fargo (1972)

Skippidity do da
Thank you oh Lord for making him for me
And thank you for letting life turn out the way
That I always thought it could be
There once was a time when I couldn´t imagine
How it´d feel to say
I am happiest girl, in the whole U.S.A

Even though my music interests have changed over the years, I still enjoy listening to these songs and singing along.  Each one of them are bascially about choices we make and finding someone to love.

How lucky for me that the lyrics I sang in my room beginning in 1972, as a 12 year old girl, came true.  Skippidity do da, thank you, Lord for making Keith for me.  And thank you for letting life turn out the way, that I always thought it could be.  There once was a time when I couldn’t imagine how it’d feel to say I am the happiest girl, in the whole U.S.A.

The photo: Donna Fargo’s “I’m the Happiest Girl in the Whole USA” spinning on my turntable showing the worn grooves of my 45.

About kbea831

I love collecting family stories and photos.

Posted on February 4, 2011, in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

