17|365 Pieces of Time (1/21/11)

For as long as I can remember my maternal grandmother wore a watch with an elastic type wristband.

When I was about 7 or 8 years old she went to the hall closet where lots of old, special things were and showed me a watch that I thought was beautiful and delicate.  It had a butterfly-like wristband and the face had a small diamond on each of the corners of the face.  She told me that when I was older, it would be mine.  I never forgot her promise and asked her about over the years.

Finally, when I was about 13 years old she told me I was old enough to have the watch.  We went to a store where she told me to pick out a new wristband.  I didn’t want a new band because the original was so pretty but she told me it was broken and that an elastic band would keep the watch more secure.  Although I didn’t want an elastic wristband, I really liked the watch so I thought one day I’d replace it with a delicate band.  It would be nice if we had the original but I have no idea what happened to it.

Jan212011_watch_0053

Over the years somehow I ended up with five of Grammy’s old watches and one of my mother’s. In the photo here, the middle watch is that special watch Grammy promised me.  The one on the right has an interesting lens divided into quadrants that comes to a point in the middle and was Grammy’s.  The watch on the left was given to my mother by her father and she wore it for years and years replacing the band many times.  At my house we have a wall of clocks and watches that serves as artwork as well as a display of heirlooms, these watches are three of those up close.  Over at Time for Bling read about our 1885 pocketwatch heirloom.

I took several photos using the macro at several angles.  I prefer this photo overall, but wish the reflection at 12:00 on the middle watch wasn’t there.

About kbea831

I love collecting family stories and photos.

Posted on January 22, 2011, in Family History, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

