16|365 Berry Berry Close (1/20/11)

I didn’t have to be at work until 11:00 due to inclement weather (ice and a bit of snow on the roads).  Consequently, I had time this morning to take some photos of the natural beauty in my yard.  Factoring in the windchill, it felt like 6 degrees outside so I bundled up with my heaviest leather coat, hood and gloves before going outside.  Then, also armed with my camera and tripod, I braved the elements hunting for something of interest to photograph using the macro function.

Jan202011_flora_0003

The shapes and colors of my nandina domestica, commonly known as Heavenly Bamboo, grabbed my attention.  Still only about 8:00 am, the sun was hiding behind all the overcast and coldness so the lighting in the image is soft.  I partcularly like the red berries, the one delicately curled leaf and the white of the ice and snow.

Why is it that short days at work seem longer than regular days?  Oh well, it was refreshing to begin my day with such awesome beauty.

About kbea831

I love collecting family stories and photos.

Posted on January 21, 2011, in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

