15|365 The Straws Have It (1/19/11)

As a kid I thought bendable straws were cool but I don’t think they were a common item in our house.  I recall using them more often when I was sick.  Undoubtedly Mom employed any tactic to get me to drink more liquids.  Somehow even today drinking from a flexible straw makes me feel happier.

With our kids, I tried to keep straws on hand for anytime use. These days my ‘kids’ are in college and we have these flexible straws needing attention. So I thought, what better use than to practice my macro photography on these colorful straws with their concertina-type hinge.

Jan192011_straws_0016

I keep the straws in a glass pull-up dispenser, which created some interesting distortions in the photo.  I found it somewhat challenging to get the image focused through the glass and get appropriate lighting.  Invented in 1937 here is “The Straight Truth About the Flexible Drinking Straw”.

About kbea831

I love collecting family stories and photos.

Posted on January 20, 2011, in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

