13|365 Pages of Our Ancestors, Up Close (1/17/11)

This week’s Digital Photography School theme is macro.  Since today was a holiday for me I had time to play around with my digital point and shoot camera, which has a macro function.  I’ve used the macro before but not often enough to really get the hang of it.  For today’s photo, I used an external flash and was able to get enough light to capture a good balance, I think.
Jan172011_macro_0013
The photo is of three heirloom books we have in our home that were my husband’s ancestors. Specifically:

  1. The top one is Psalms and Hymns adapted to Social, Private, and Public Worship in the Presybyerian Church published in 1843 by the Presybterian Board of Publication.
  2. The middle one is The New Testament of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ published in 1882 by the American Bible Society.  This one was my husband’s great, great grandmother’s and you can read about the original owner on my post entitled A Clear Testament on my other blog.
  3. The bottom one is Favorite Songs and Hymns A Complete Church Hymnal published in 1939 by Stamps-Baxter Music and Printing Co., Inc.

Two things of note today.  I finished putting together a second old family album (whew, it’s a lot of work) and I had a nice, though short, visit with my son.  I love seeing him and getting those special hugs.  I thought about taking pictures of him but didn’t think he’d appreciate the upclose that would be required for the macro.  I thought a safer choice for my amatuer status were inanimate objects.

Let me know what you think of the photo composition or if you have some suggestions to help me improve.

About kbea831

I love collecting family stories and photos.

Posted on January 18, 2011, in Family History, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

